List of locations where payment of danger pay has been approved with effect from 1 July 2014 through 30 September 2014*

- Afghanistan
- Central African Republic
- Democratic Republic of the Congo
 - ➤ Katanga Province only Tanganyka and Haut-Katanga districts, including the following duty stations and locations Bendera, Kabalo, Kalemie, Kongolo, Manono Moba, Mitwaba and Pweto.
 - North Kivu Province including the following duty stations and locations Beni, Butembo, Goma, Kanyabayonga, Kitchanga, Kiwanja, Lubero, Masisi, Ngungu, Rutshuru and Walikale.
 - ➤ Orientale province only Bas Uele, Haut Uele and Ituri districts, including the following duty stations and locations Aba, Ango, Buta, Bangadi, Dungu, Duru, Faradje, Isiro, Aru, Aveba, Bunia, Komanda and Mahagi.
 - South Kivu province including the following duty stations and locations Baraka, Bukavu, Fizi, Kalehe, Kamanyola, Kilembwe, Lulimba, Minembwe, Minova, Mwenga, Sange, Shabunda, Uvira and Walungu.
- Ethiopia Somali Region, except Jijiga, Shinile and Adfer Zones of the Somali Region with the duty station of Jijiga.
- Gaza
- Iraq the entire country, excluding Kurdistan Region of Iraq comprising Erbil, Sulaymaniyah and Duhok Provinces except their respective border areas, 20 km inside Kurdistan Region of Iraq, with Iran and Turkey.
- Kenya North Eastern Province including the following duty stations Alinjugur, Dadaab, Fafi, Garissa, Mandera, and Wajir, excluding Wajir International Airport.
- Libya the entire country, including the following duty stations Al Bayda, Benghazi, Khufra, Misrata, Sebha, Sirte and Tobruk and Tripoli.
- Mali Northern Mali including the duty stations of Gao, Kidal, Tessalit, and Tombouctou (Timbuktu).
- Nigeria North Eastern Nigeria, including the following duty stations Damaturu (Yobe State) and Maiduguri (Borno State).
- Pakistan Balochistan Province, Khyber Pakhtunkhawa Province (formerly, North-West Frontier Province) and Federally Administered Tribal Areas.

^{*} Except for Gaza where Danger Pay is effective 5 July 2014

- Somalia the entire country, excluding the following duty stations Berbera, Gebiley and Hargeisa.
- South Sudan
 - > Central Equatoria State including the duty stations of Juba and Yei.
 - ➤ Jonglei State Entire state, including the duty stations of Akobo, Boma, Bor, Lankien, Pibor, Pochalla and Yuai.
 - Lakes State only Awerial, Yirol East, Rumbek Centre, Rumbek East and Rumbeck North counties, including the duty station of Rumbek.
 - Northern Bar El Gazal State Aweil East and Aweil North counties, including the duty station of Aweil and Gokmachar.
 - ➤ Unity State entire state including the following duty stations Bentiu, Jam-Jang, Koch, Mayom, Paryang, Pulmok, Panyijar, Rubkona and Yida.
 - ➤ Upper Nile State including the following duty stations Akon, Bunj, Gendrassa, Jamam, Melut, Maban, Malakal, Nasser and Renk.
 - ➤ Warrap State including the duty stations of Kuajok, counties of Twic, Gogrial west, Gogrial East, Tonj North and Tonj East including duty stations of Turalei and Wunrok.
 - ➤ Western Bar El Gazal State including Boro Medina, and all locations north of the road Kafia-Gabir-Kosho-Raja and excluding Raga town.
 - Western Equatoria State including Ezo, Tambura and all locations south of the road Morobo-Yei-Maridi-Yambio-Nadi-Tambura, excluding Maridi Town and Yambio town.
- Sudan the Darfur Region of Sudan, including East, West, South, North and Central Darfur, Abyei Administered Area, South Kordofan State and Blue Nile State south of Damazine and excluding the town of Damazine.
- Syrian Arab Republic the entire country, including UNDOF Area of Operations, except the occupied territory west of the "Alpha Line" in the "Area of Limitation."
- Yemen.

Addendum

Based on the recommendations received from the Director-General of the World Health Organization and in line with the established criteria for danger pay, as contained in A/66/30, Annex II, subparagraph 1 (c), that danger pay can be authorized in "non-protected environments where medical staff are specifically at risk to their life when deployed to deal with public health emergencies as declared by the World Health Organization", the Chairman, under the authority delegated to his office, approved Danger Pay, from 15 August to 30 September 2014, for "non-protected environments" in the three affected countries, namely Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, where internationally and locally-recruited staff are required to report to work in the Ebola Virus Disease (EVD) operations fitting the following criteria:

- Medical staff directly involved in the provision of clinical care to confirmed/probable EVD cases;
- Medical staff directly involved in the actual screening of suspect cases;
- Laboratory staff involved in the drawing or processing of potentially hazardous specimens;
- Any cleaning staff involved in the management of hazardous or potentially hazardous waste at an ETC or lab or screening facility;
- Logisticians involved in burial procedures and/or specimen handling (excluding the transport of specimens);
- Other staff who work directly with communities in the designated three-country isolation zone or other "hot spots", as specified by WHO.

For other staff not directly involved in the EVD operations in the above-mentioned countries the overall risk of getting infected by Ebola virus is very low at the present time, therefore danger pay is not applicable. Together with the World Health Organization, we will continue to monitor the situation and provide updated information as necessary.

Addendum II

As per ICSC Annual Report A/66/30, danger pay applies to "Non-protected environments where medical staff are specifically at risk to their life when deployed to deal with public health emergencies as declared by the World Health Organization". Based on the assessment and recommendation of the World Health Organization, the Chairman, under the authority delegated to his office, approved danger pay on an exceptional basis for all UN common system staff in **Guinea**, **Liberia and Sierra Leone** effective **10 September to 30 September 2014**.